Steigen 5000 metre Handicap

Steigen 5000m Handicap winner Fiona Fitzpatrick

After a season of virtual races in 2020, 89 enthusiastic runners including many newcomers, gathered in perfect conditions for the running of the Steigen 5 km handicap.  The massed start saw a ferocious pace from the outset and it was the newcomers putting the rest of the field to the sword.

Veteran Damien Turner triumphed by 100 metres from Liam Drady with Ed Kelly making it a trifecta for the new members. In the female season, another first year member, Hayley Waterson won by half a kilometre from Sky Katz and Sharon Pedersen. When the handicappers applied the sealed handicaps, it was Fiona Fitzpatrick who scored her first win and collected the sash from the sponsors Steigen. Fitzpatrick has been training hard, including track races on Wednesday nights with Masters Athletics, to achieve the necessary improvement.

Top 10 Placings

F. Fitzpatrick 29:17, F. Gilks-De Araugo 25:02, V. Gasper 21:36, N. Muscroft 18:31, S. Thompson 20:54, G. Baensch 27:02, D. Churchovich 22:55, M. Morton 19:42, M. Maiden 21:04, L. Pye 24:17.

Fastest Times

  • Under 20 Male: J. Peart 20.20
  • Under 40 Male: L. Drady 17.48, J. Tenne 18.28
  • Under 40 Female: H. Waterson 19.06, R. Thompson 22.00
  • Veteran Male: D. Turner 17.25, E. Kelly 18.05
  • Veteran Female: S. Pedersen 21.26, L. Solly 24.19
  • Masters Male: A. Ward 19.35, M. Maiden 21.04
  • Masters Female: S. Howell 22.07, T. De Koning-Ward 24.46
  • Legends Male: K. Walker 20.25, K. McNulty 20.50
  • Legends Female: P. Tindal 24.21, P. Galvin 24.34
  • Supervets Male: D. Elward 20.58, V. Gasper 21.36
  • Supervets Female: D. Elson 31.44, C.Bridgland 32.31


Next Sunday there isn’t a race due to Anzac Day but racing resumes on Sunday, 2nd May with a 6.5 km at Belmont Park, Melway Ref 451 K8 at 9:00 a.m. New members and invitation runners most welcome. Registrations close at 8:40. More information please visit the Races page.

Posted in Race Results

2020 Geelong Half Marathon and 7 km Run

The postponed 2020 Geelong Half Marathon and 7 km Run was held on Sunday April 11th 2021.

Thank you to all who participated! You can find the official results here.

And a huge thank you to the City of Greater Geelong who granted us $5,000 to assist with running the Geelong Half Marathon this year. 

We look forward to seeing you at the Geelong Half Marathon in autumn 2022.

 Event Details   General   Event Entry  Sponsors

Posted in Run Updates

2021 Geelong Cross Country Club season


Join up as a Geelong Cross Country Club member for 2021!

You can also make a single payment now with your membership that will cover race fees for all races in the season. Alternatively, you have the option to pay race fees each week.

Online race entry

Our first Club race was on Sunday April 18th, 5km at Belmont Park (beside Moorabool Street Bridge, Belmont side), starting at 9 am.

Full details of all Club races for 2021 are available at this link.

Posted in Club News

Virtual 5 km Dawnbuster Fun Run

Congratulations to our two spot prize winners for the Virtual 5 km Dawnbuster Fun Run (held from Monday 28 December to Thursday 31 December 2020): Sean Stockton from Geelong and Adam Hilton from Brunswick East.

And a big thankyou to our spot prize donors.

Sean wins a $100 voucher from Fisherman’s Pier in Geelong (, and Adam wins a $100 voucher from the Wharf Shed, also in Geelong (

And congratulations to all category winners:

Age categoryGenderNameLocation of runTime (mins:secs)Km pace (mins:secs per km)
Under 18 yearsMJaymz FarrellShepparton26:105:14
18 – 39 yearsFRachel PainterGeelong18:393:44
18 – 39 yearsMLiam GreenGeelong18:553:47
40 – 49 yearsFMichelle HarrisLara25:255:05
40 – 49 yearsMLuke ConsidineBarwon River19:063:49
50 – 59 yearsFJennie DearnaleyLara Grand Lakes21:354:19
50 – 59 yearsMStephen McFaddenDawnbuster course22:374:31
60 – 69 yearsFJeanette AustinBarwon River Trail26:535:23
60 – 69 yearsMKen WalkerEast Belmont Football Ground19:403:56
70 years and overFElizabeth RiordanPleasant St Newtown to Geelong Foreshore29:125:50
70 years and overMJeff WalkerBarwon River Path24:404:56

For all results, click here.

Dawnbuster will hopefully be back as usual at the Geelong Waterfront at 7 am on Dec 31st 2021.

For further information, please contact the Events Team
([email protected] or phone 5229 4364).

Posted in Club News

Online race entry

The next race is the Active Feet – Clubrooms 6.5km on Sunday May 2.

Members can enter online here.